Tags

, , , ,

Ah, yes….”marketing.” Despite my affection for the “Interesting Man” campaign, I’m not sure that’s exactly what a borderline faux craft company needs.

LINK

As a summary, the guys who make Kona, Widmer, Redhook – and are partially owned by ABInBev, and therefore falls outside the definition of “craft beer” defined by the Brewers Association – have hired the firm who makes the “Most Interesting Man in the World” commercials for Dos Equis, which is a subsidiary of Heineken.

I just wonder how effective traditional advertising can be for a craft brew audience? I realize that Sam Adams does commercials, but so did Pete’s Wicked Ale – and they’re not around any more. You cannot “out market” the major brands, and I think the major brands are learning that they’re increasingly fighting over a smaller slice of the pie. Unfortunately for them, the brands that are consistently growing are NOT being fueled by traditional marketing.

