Tags

, , , , ,

This year marks the beginning of the third century of Bavarian Biergartens, legalized by my namesake, Bavarian King Max I, also known as Max Joseph, one of our favorite royals. I’ve been to all but one of these fair spots – and this list is pretty much the “famous” gardens known to most tourists and guidebooks – but there are so many others as well that a comprehensive list is virtually impossible.

It is impossible to overstate the significance of the Biergarten in Munich and Bavarian summer life and it is certainly a pleasure getting to know a few of them. For an excellent primer, I’d recommend Larry Hawthorne’s regularly updated Beer Drinker’s Guide to Munich. While his website is “old school,” the book is an enjoyable exercise in discovering hidden gems and a bit of history…and it’s written in English (my 3rd edition is well worn, I must admit).

