The Soviet Bolsheviks (Communists) were strict drys and quickly imposed national Prohibition following the Russian Revolution.

Wartime Prohibition as introduced in the Russian Empire in 1914 permitted the sale of hard liquor only in restaurants, introduced at the beginning of World War I. Other warring countries (e.g. the United Kingdom, France, and Germany) imposed certain restrictions on alcoholic beverages, but only Russia completely stopped the retail sale of vodka.

Prohibition continued through the turmoil of the Russian Revolution of 1917 and the Russian Civil War, into the period of Soviet Russia and the Soviet Union with complete Prohibition on the sale of vodka until 1925.

In the Soviet Union, there were three major anti-alcohol campaigns: started in 1958, in 1972, and in 1985.